Would Elias Schwerdtfeger come to the courtesy phone, please?

Elias, if you read this (or if anybody else knows his whereabouts): I lately tried to access your wonderful and convenient Voynich transcription extractor (http://vib.tamagothi.de/index.php), but while it seems to still be up, it seems to have issues with the separation of Currier languages. (My guess is, the corresponding php script is no longer supported.) Can you fix this?

Or does anybody know of a comparable tool which lets you filter for certain VM transcriptions? Any help welcome.

3 thoughts on “Would Elias Schwerdtfeger come to the courtesy phone, please?

  1. Elmar,
    I have built a very extensive software library that enables reading, writing, editing (and also version labelling) of the IVTFF transliteration files and also converting between the various voynich transliteration alphabets documented on Rene’s site. It also provides an easy way to define very detailed and fine-grained selection criteria to extract subsets of the whole manuscript into an isolated ‘Corpus’ for further analysis, allowing manipulation of the dagta at multiple levels (folios, lines, tokens, and glyphs.) so that one can perform statistical analysis and plotting as well. I am currently using this library for my own VMS analysis projects.

    I have been considering making the library available for anyone to use. The problem is, it is not very useful to anyone who is not using Python to do their analyses. And I am not sure there is enough people who are interested and able to make use of it. So I have not prioritized making it publicly available.

    (But if there is sufficient interest expressed, I will do so.)

    –Andrew

  2. Hei Andrew,
    I consider myself moderately computer-savvy, but as far as Python is concerned, I unfortunately have to draw a blank.
    I think your library would be a great research tool for people, especially since Elias’ site doesn’t seem to be fully functional anymore.
    Do you think it would be possible to give your library a bit of a GUI, so people could work with it without having to have a background in Python?
    (Anybody else here who would be up to the task — Julian?

Leave a comment